When The Bell Tolls Production Project

“The Detective” by paurian is marked with CC BY 2.0.

SUMMARY

When The Bell Tolls is an interactive murder mystery where the player takes on the role of a detective solving the case of who murdered the mayor of Bell Town.

Role

Director/Producer

Intention (SMART Goal)

By May 10th, as part of team 5, I will test my leadership skills by leading team 5 to create a fully-functional, successful game and provide assistance to the team as needed.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Raising Kratos is a documentary about the making of God Of War (2018). I believe this documentary has a lot to say about the process of Cory Barlog, the renown director of the game, as well as  God of War (2005), God of War IIGod of War III, and God Of War: Ascension

Christian Dailey was formerly an executive at Bioware. He worked on, Dragon Age: OriginsDragon Age II, Mass Effect, Mass Effect IIMass Effect III, and Anthem.

Training Source(s)

How To Create A Dialogue System In Unity (BASIC)

Stealth Enemy AI (Line of Sight)

Project Timeline

  1. Brainstorm Tasks
  2. Add Tasks to Trello
  3. Fibonacci Number Tasks
  4. Create Basic Player Movement
  5. Create Basic Dialogue System
  6. Create Interactions
  7. Build MVP
  8. Write Story
  9. Add Evidence and Non-Evidence Items
  10.  Code scene swapping to transition between different levels
  11. Add Search Warrants and conviction
  12. Build Next Version
  13. Code petting animals logic
  14. Create player animations
  15. Implement player animations
  16. Create NPC animations
  17. Implement NPC animations
  18. Create music and SFX
  19. Implement music and SFX
  20. Build Final Version

Proposed Budget

$0.00

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The GAME Creation)

https://chsgamedesign.itch.io/period-6-team-5

Skills Commentary

Slideshow

In this session I focused on leading a team of six talented developers to create a successful game. I assisted the coder, writer, and the artists as needed and guided everyone towards my creative vision over the course of two months. I helped the coder create key scripts, such as the interaction script, I reviewed the writer’s work, and guided the artists towards the right direction to fit with my vision. I also helped the team determine that our game would have a bestiary-type inventory.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

Each day of the session, Adam and I would contemplate solutions to various bugs within the code.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I clearly communicated my creative vision with my team members and answered any questions they had in regards to it.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I looked to online sources to gain a better understanding of video game development.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

This session helped me further develop my leadership skills and communication skills in general.

Reactions to the Final Version

Not much reaction as the game wasn’t finished. Although the general consensus was that the art was a strength of the game and that it had potential to be a great product with more development.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

We bit off much more than we could chew. Nevertheless, I think this session’s iteration of When The Bell Tolls turned out well for what we could achieve.

Grammar and Spelling

Built-In Spell Check

Editor

Ezekiel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *